TOP

All The New Genre TV Shows Premiering This Fall

All The New Genre TV Shows Premiering This Fall

Remember when summer TV was a dreaded wasteland of reruns you had no desire to watch, even with commercial reminders that "if you haven't seen it, it's new to you"? Fall's arrival signaled not just the start of the best season or another school year, but meant all your favorite shows would return and finally there'd be something to watch again.

The TV landscape has certainly changed since then, now that you can watch most anything on demand (or pirated in a cloud somewhere) and both streaming sites and cable channels produce some often great original shows all year long. Even so, I still look forward to fall TV with giddy anticipation — and with this being such an awesome age for genre TV and film, it's hard not to get excited at what new shows might play on post-Labor Day screens.

When it comes to this season's newbies, it's all about the paranormal and the Marvel juggernaut smashing it's way further into TV. You have an X-Men family thriller-drama starring True Blood's own Vampire Bill, along with two highly anticipated adaptations: Inhumans on ABC, and Runaways on Hulu.

On the paranormal end, you've got funny ghosts and serious ghosts, along with angels, demons, and more. There's also a new Star Trek series for the first time in a decade, and it stars the awesome Sonequa Martin-Green (formerly of The Walking Dead), but... it's only available on CBS All Access, which is like Netflix for CBS stuff.*

While I have to admit I'm not as excited about these new shows as I am for the return of Stranger Things, Mr. Robot or all out freaking war on The Walking Dead, I'll still check quite a few of them out. To help you decide, here are sneak peeks at most of this season's upcoming new genre shows (minus those that've already premiered), plus the return dates for all your old favorites...

About the Author: Monica Corwin

About the Author: Monica Corwin

While the Secrets & Sorcery anthology has now come to an end (aren't limited editions so bittersweet?), my fellow authors from that collection are still busy little bees! Like Monica Corwin, who's gearing up for One Shade of Gray, her retelling of The Portrait of Dorian Gray that comes out next week. You know how much I love a good retelling!

Monica Corwin is a New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author. She is an outspoken writer attempting to make romance accessible to everyone, no matter their preferences. As a Northern Ohioian, she enjoys snow drifts, three seasons of weather, and a dislike of Michigan football. Monica owns more books about King Arthur than should be strictly necessary. Also typewriters... lots and lots of typewriters.

Get to know more about Monica in this Q&A...

New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: September 17-23

New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: September 17-23

Dystopian, cyberpunk, steampunk, historical fantasy, urban fantasy... this week you'll find a little something for everyone. On the sci-fi end of things, there's the long-awaited debut from i09 founder Annalee Newitz about a drug pirate in the year 2144 who acts as a pharmaceutical Robin Hood in a submarine.

Sliding towards fantasy, there's a ton of series starters: a romantic steampunk adventure in 1800s China with alchemy, a fun Regency romp with magic and murder and spies, and urban fantasy worlds where magic is advanced science, wolf pack loyalty reigns supreme, and storybook characters come to life in a unique spin on retellings.

This week also brings sequels galore, with follow ups to the cyberpunk thriller Infomocracy and the dystopian The Girl Who Dared to Think. And for the YA fantasy lover, you'll find continuations to last year's throne-seeking Three Dark Crowns and magic-bingeing A Shadow Bright and Burning.

All of that, plus horror and fantasy standalones that play with multi-dimensional time and space. See? A little bit of all the things. Here's what's new in sci-fi and fantasy this week...

Cover Reveal: Everlast Series by Juliana Haygert

Cover Reveal: Everlast Series by Juliana Haygert

'Never judge a book by its cover' is probably one of the most repeated sayings — and one of the most ignored when it comes to actual books. When you see a pretty cover, tell me you don't get all giddy and hopeful at the promise of story within. I know I do!

Like these new covers for the Everlast series by my fellow Secrets & Sorcery author, Juliana Haygert, designed by Moonchildljilja They're so sleek and pretty, with art that hints at the urban fantasy and post-apocalyptic elements promised in the synopsis, a story of action and magic in a darkened world. Take a look for yourself...

(and don't miss out on the giveaway at the end!)

Book Blitz: Three Heart Echo by Keary Taylor

Book Blitz: Three Heart Echo by Keary Taylor

Fall is the season of dark, creepy books and I love it. Twisted, chilling, suspenseful, obsession that borders on psychological horror... I love stories like these. Throw in paranormal elements like a generational family curse and the ability to talk to ghosts, add in the eerie atmosphere of an abandoned town setting, and you've got a book I can't ignore. Three Heart Echo by Keary Taylor is that book.

If you're also a fan of creepy paranormal suspense, you'll want to check this one out. I mean, when reviewers describe it as “a love story wrapped in a murder mystery with a side of psycho...”, how can you not? So go on, take a look... (*and be sure to scroll through to the very end, where there's an Amazon gift card up for grabs!)

New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: September 11-16

New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: September 11-16

Dude. There's so much diversity in this week's new sci-fi and fantasy book releases, I can't even. It's just pretty exciting to scroll through a list of a dozen new SFF books and see multiple covers featuring people of color, with multiple synopses featuring underrepresented cultures, with multiple authors of color represented.

Beyond diversity, there's just a lot of cool stuff for the SFF reader this week. You've got dragons and jinn and aliens and missions to space. A dystopian look at China's One Child Policy. Hackers in a futuristic video game world. A K-drama + Pacific Rim mash-up. And, of course, magic, from a James Bond-like fantasy based on real-world magical order The Golden Dawn (with a punny title that I love) to a very cool magical world that takes on oppression and racism. 

Here's what's new in speculative fiction this week...

Cover Reveal: Deadly Sweet

Cover Reveal: Deadly Sweet

You may have noticed I have a thing for witches and magic in my fiction (and my real life, but that's a different story altogether!). Whenever I hear of any new book involving said witches and magic, whether YA or adult, contemporary or historical, on my to-read list it goes. 

Naturally, when I learned about the cover reveal for Deadly Sweet, an upcoming witchy YA paranormal from Lola Dodge, and saw that it was billed for fans of Hex Hall, The Magicians and Practical Magic, I had to check it out. I'm a fan of all those books (and their TV & movie counterparts), and the synopsis promises magic bakeries and tasty confections too? Sign me up, please!

Now that I've seen the reveal, I'm even more excited — judging this book by its cover, I'd say it's a super cute yummy treat! Take a look for yourself (while I go find a piece of cake)...

New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: September 4-10

New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: September 4-10

Fall is upon us, never mind what the weather says. This is my favorite time of year, not least because there is an abundance of riches for book and movie lovers alike! And this first week of September does not disappoint — there are a ton of new sci-fi and fantasy book releases, with everything from witches and feminist fairy tales to time travel via magic balloons and an epic Wild West full of magic.

There are also quite a few new additions to series you probably love, like Seanan McGuire's Hugo-nominated October Daye series, the latest in Max Gladstone's awesome urban fantasy series, the next installment of Sarah J. Maas' Throne of Glass series, and book two in Jay Kristoff's Nevernight Chronicle. Like I said, there are a lot of new books this week!

Here's what's new in speculative fiction:

Book Blitz: ReWired by S.R. Johannes

Book Blitz: ReWired by S.R. Johannes

How do you feel about cyberpunk? Me, I love it. Technology, hackers, large scale conspiracies — be they government or corporate (is there really any difference these days?) — I am here for all of that. I don't know how many times I've watched Hackers (cheesy though it seems now), and Mr. Robot is pretty much the best damn thing on TV today. Combined with my love of YA lit, a YA cyber-thriller like ReWired is right up my alley.

All the winking little nods in the synopsis, from the main character's alias being "Dark Angel" (shades of the early aughties Jessica Alba show?) to the hacker group being called the Orwellians, only makes me want to read it more. If you're a YA fan and have similar feels about cyberpunk themes, you might want to check this one out too. It's available now, and there's a giveaway obviously. Take a look:

Monthly Spec Fix: August

Monthly Spec Fix: August

Stuff happened this month, as it's prone to do. Herein lies a roundup of various speculative fiction, SFF related and other bookish news from August. Kerfuffles included.