TOP

New SFF Books

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of May 15th

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of May 15th

This week is the week of the sequel, with so many second books from quite a few of last year's new sci-fi and fantasy series. You'll find follow-ups to: the Nebula-nominated deco-punk fantasy Amberlough, the action-packed military sci-fi of Vanguard (book 1 in the Genesis Fleet series), and the ongoing steampunk adventure of last year's The Guns Above (book 1 in the Signal Airship series). 

In keeping with the series theme of the week, there's also the conclusion to Victoria Aveyard's wildly popular Red Queen series, and a new spin-off to Charlie Holmberg's enchanting steampunk-ish Paper Magician series, only now with plastic! I adored the magical world of The Paper Magician, so I'm excited for this new series set in that same world.

It's not all follow-ups and spin-offs, though. There's new stuff too! Like the Publishers Weekly-starred start to Neal Asher's newest sci-fi series, set in the Polity universe. And a beautifully-written dystopian novel by Jason Mott, and a new series by Mindee Arnett for those who can't get enough palace intrigue and magic in their YA fantasy.

There's also my other reading pick of the week, Sophie Cameron's debut YA fantasy about angels and grief. I realize that for a few years angels were the new vampires in YA fantasy and publishers churned out some not so great books as a result, but I don't care — I'll always be a sucker for fresh takes on angel mythology, plus it's full of diversity and set during the Edinburgh festival, so I'm in. 

Here are this week's best new sci-fi and fantasy books...

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of May 8th

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of May 8th

You know summer's a-comin', because there are so many good books out this week — not to mention the whole month in general! And science fiction fans, rejoice, because so many of those good books are sci-fi.

There's new Lilith Saintcrow with a harrowing tale of a future America devastated by a second civil war. There's the follow-up to Martha Wells' awesome novella, All Systems Red, about everyone's favorite murderbot! Then there's a disturbing new sci-fi thriller from Joe Hart, and a new literary sci-fi that's said to be perfect for fans of Blake Crouch, Philip K. Dick and Ex Machina — which, I mean, hello. That's totally me.

Ironically, though, as much as I've been longing for some good new sci-fi, my reading picks this week are both fantasy. The first is a debut that's both literary feminist fable and dark Gothic fairy tale, hailed as the best fantasy book of May by everyone from The Verge and Refinery 29 to the Chicago Review of Books and the Washington Post. 

But the book I'm most excited for this week is a YA paranormal mystery described as Veronica Mars meets The Craft, about an undead vigilante girl gang. Gotta say, I, myself, have been slayed by this incredibly cool premise because it sounds like all kinds of fun! 

Here are this week's best new sci-fi and fantasy books...

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of May 1st

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of May 1st

Like last week, there's quite a bit of YA fantasy in this week's new releases, from the final book in Amy Tintera's bestselling Ruined series to a novella bridging events in between books of the massively popular A Court of Thorns and Roses, along with the start of a Game of Thrones-ish series full of magic and devious plots and betrayals. 

Unlike last week, there's also new adult fantasy as well — and both books feature diversity, which makes me happy! There's the start of a romantic New Adult fantasy series set in a treacherous world of magic and discrimination. And there's a fantasy series debut inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century that's also filled with treachery and magic, but being hailed by some as the fantasy debut of the year. The reviews for this are all kinds of amazing, which is why it's one of my reading picks this week.

On the sci-fi front, this week brings the conclusion to the Themis Files, an awesome giant robot invasion series (which hopefully means that now they'll finally get cracking on the movie adaptation). There's also my second reading pick of the week, which is a Jane Eyre retelling. But, like, in space. Yes, Jane Eyre. In space. On a ship called the Rochester. I mean... how could you not want to read this? 

With that, here are this week's best new sci-fi and fantasy books...

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of April 24th

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of April 24th

If you love YA Fantasy, this week is for you!

From an imprisoned princess fighting to reclaim her kingdom for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen, to a fun take on fandom and nerd culture with a little dystopian satire thrown in, the follow up to Melissa Caruso's political fantasy The Tethered Mage, the conclusion to Julie Kagawa's dragon fantasy series, and this month's most buzzed about new release hailed as Wonder Woman meets Vikings (and my personal pick this week 😍), there's a ton of YA fantasy hitting the selves.

This week may be all about fantasy, but there are still a few new releases to scratch that sci-fi or speculative fiction itch. Like the short novella from Ian McDonald packed full of old book discoveries, love letters, time travel, and gay love during World War II. There's also Japanese author Yoko Tawada's newly translated spec fic about a post-Fukushima world where all the children are born ancient — it may sound dark and dystopian, but it's actually described as a delightful, irrepressibly funny book. 

Here are this week's best new sci-fi and fantasy books...

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of April 17th

Best New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: Week of April 17th

There's no unifying theme to this week's new sci-fi and fantasy books, unlike the last couple weeks which felt like publishers got together and decided 'hey, let's all release alt-historical zombie novels, or how about urban fantasy mobster novels.'

This week, there's something for everyone: you've got fantasy, from a historical fantasy set in an alternate Rome to an urban fantasy set in a post–Katrina New Orleans (my personal pick this week 😍). You've got YA fantasy, with book two in Amy A. Bartol's Secondborn series. You've got Gothic horror, in the form of a hauntingly weird little ghost story. And you've got sci-fi, with the standalone follow-up to John Scalzi's Lock In, a 'near-future sci-fi with the thrills of a gritty cop procedural.'

You've even got a dystopian sci-fi + fantasy sort of thing with a floating city in a post-climate change Arctic, social engineering, and... a woman riding an orca. With a polar bear at her side. In a Publisher's Weekly starred book that's been hailed as the book this month by Entertainment Weekly, The Washington Post, Tor.com, the B&N Sci-Fi Fantasy Blog, and Amazon too.

Check out this week's best new sci-fi and fantasy — including the start of an 11-episode weekly fantasy serial that's FREE to try out (for now, at least)...