TOP

Cover Reveal: Deadly Sweet

DeadlySweetRevealBanner.png

You may have noticed I have a thing for witches and magic in my fiction (and my real life, but that's a different story altogether!). Whenever I hear of any new book involving said witches and magic, whether YA or adult, contemporary or historical, on my to-read list it goes. 

Naturally, when I learned about the cover reveal for Deadly Sweet, an upcoming witchy YA paranormal from Lola Dodge, and saw that it was billed for fans of Hex Hall, The Magicians and Practical Magic, I had to check it out. I'm a fan of all those books (and their TV & movie counterparts), and the synopsis promises magic bakeries and tasty confections too? Sign me up, please!

Now that I've seen the reveal, I'm even more excited — judging this book by its cover, I'd say it's a super cute yummy treat! Take a look for yourself (while I go find a piece of cake)...

Deadly Sweet

by Lola Dodge

YA / Paranormal / Fantasy

(Spellwork Syndicate, #1)
Published by: Ink Monster LLC
Publication date: January 16th 2018

✽ ✽ ✽

For fans of Hex Hall, The Magicians, Practical Magic, and Food Wars!

Anise Wise loves three things: baking, potion making, and reading her spellbooks in blissful silence. She might not be the most powerful witch, but enchantment is a rare skill, and her ability to bake with magic is even rarer. Too bad one wants witchcraft on their campus. Anise’s dream of attending pastry school crumbles with rejection letter after rejection letter.

Desperate to escape her dead-end future, Anise contacts the long-lost relative she’s not supposed to know about. Great Aunt Agatha owns the only magic bakery in the US, and she suddenly needs a new apprentice. Anise is so excited she books it to New Mexico without thinking to ask what happened to the last girl.

The Spellwork Syndicate rules the local witches in Taos, but as “accidents” turn into full-out attacks on Anise’s life, their promises to keep her safe are less and less reassuring. Her cranky bodyguard is doing his best, but it’s hard to fight back when she has no idea who’s the enemy. Or why she became their target.

If Anise can’t find and stop whoever wants her dead, she’ll be more toasted than a crème brûlée.

Who knew baking cakes could be so life or death?

 

Add to Goodreads

or Pre-Order:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Apple iBooks | Kobo


About the Author

Lola-Dodge-Author-Editor.jpg

Lola Dodge is a compulsive traveler, baker, and procrastinator. She earned her BA in English from Stonehill College and MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University--and hasn't stopped moving since. When she's not on the road, Lola spends her time indoors where the sunlight can't melt her, writing or bingeing on anime and cherry soda. She can be summoned in a ritual involving curry, Hello Kitty idols, and a solid chocolate pentagram.

Follow Lola online: www.loladodge.com
Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads