TOP

New Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books: August 14-20

So, I'm finally back after a short hiatus to move this website. And yes, it did end up taking a wee bit longer than I thought it would (did I say I'd return July 31? Just kidding, I totally meant mid-August!). For that, I blame Mercury retrograde. But now I'm back and ready to go with a shiny new website and a sparkly list of this week's newly released SFF books for your perusal.

There isn't much new sci-fi to share, as this week is all about fantasy in its many flavors. From the ghostly paranormal of Kate Hamer's latest, to the urban fantasy of Kelley Armstrong's Cainsville series and the awesome-flavored, Hugo award-winning apocalyptic fantasy of NK Jemisin's Broken Earth series — with plenty of magical, creature-filled portal fantasy in between — there's something for fantasy lovers of all tastes.

Check out this week's new speculative fiction:

Creatures

A Limited Edition Collection of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance

CREATURES is a collection of otherworldly tales from today's indie-favorite New York Times, USA Today, and International bestselling authors!

You are about to enter the realm of Creatures, a boxed set packed with more than twenty enthralling tales of urban fantasy and paranormal romance! From witches to vampires, shifters to fae, and every dark creature known to lurk the pages of fantasy fiction, you're sure to find yourself up past your bedtime and reading well into the witching hour!

So curl up on your sofa with a steaming cup of tea and PreOrder today if you dare brave the beasts!

Including stories from...

New York Times bestselling author A K Michaels • USA Today bestselling authors Gina Kincade and Kimberly Gould • USA Today bestselling author Bianca D'Arc • USA Today bestselling author Heather Marie Adkins • Boone Brux • Morgan Wylie • Felicia Beasley • Kyoko M  • Jules Barnard • Monica La Porta • Aoife Marie Sheridan • Alex Owens • Juliana Haygert • E. M. Moore • Skye Knizley • Shelique Lize • Lydia Sherrer • Wendy Owens • S.M. Blooding • Stephanie Marks • J & L Wells writing with Laura Greenwood • USA Today bestselling author Erzabet Bishop


The Doll Funeral

Kate Hamer | Paranormal

On Ruby’s thirteenth birthday, a wish she didn’t even know she had suddenly comes true: the couple who raised her aren’t her parents at all. Her real mother and father are out there somewhere, and Ruby becomes determined to find them.

Venturing into the forest with nothing but a suitcase and the company of her only true friend—the imaginary Shadow Boy—Ruby discovers a group of siblings who live alone in the woods. The children take her in, and while they offer the closest Ruby’s ever had to a family, Ruby begins to suspect that they might need her even more than she needs them. And it’s not always clear what’s real and what’s not—or who’s trying to help her and who might be a threat.

Told from shifting timelines, and the alternating perspectives of teenage Ruby; her mother, Anna; and even the Shadow Boy, The Doll Funeral is a dazzling follow-up to Kate Hamer’s breakout debut, The Girl in the Red Coat, and a gripping, exquisitely mysterious novel about the connections that remain after a family has been broken apart.


In Other Lands

Sarah Rees Brennan | Fantasy

Sometimes it’s not the kid you expect who falls through to magicland, sometimes it’s . . . Elliott. He’s grumpy, nerdy, and appalled by both the dearth of technology and the levels of fitness involved in swinging swords around. He’s a little enchanted by the elves and mermaids. Despite his aversion to war, work, and most people (human or otherwise) he finds that two unlikely ideas, friendship and world peace, may actually be possible.


The Lamb Will Slaughter the Lion

Margaret Killjoy | Fantasy • Novella

The Lamb Will Slaughter the Lion by Margaret Killjoy pits utopian anarchists against rogue demon deer in this dropkick-in-the-mouth punk fantasy that Alan Moore calls "scary and energetic."

Searching for clues about her best friend’s mysterious suicide, Danielle ventures to the squatter, utopian town of Freedom, Iowa, and witnesses a protector spirit — in the form of a blood-red, three-antlered deer — begin to turn on its summoners. She and her new friends have to act fast if they’re going to save the town — or get out alive.


Rituals

Kelley Armstrong | Urban Fantasy

The fifth book and the exciting conclusion to bestselling author Kelley Armstrong's "impossible-to-put-down" Cainsville series, in which she mixes hard-hitting crime writing with phenomenal world-building to create a brand of fiction all her own.

When Olivia Taylor-Jones found out she was not actually the adopted child of a privileged Chicago family but of a notorious pair of convicted serial killers, her life exploded. Running from the fall-out, she found a refuge in the secluded but oddly welcoming town of Cainsville, Illinois, but she couldn't resist trying to dig out the truth about her birth parents' crimes. She began working with Gabriel Walsh, a fiendishly successful criminal lawyer who also had links to the town; their investigation soon revealed Celtic mysteries at work in Cainsville, and also entangled Olivia in a tense love triangle with the calculating Gabriel and her charming biker boyfriend, Ricky. Worse, troubling visions revealed to Olivia that the three of them were reenacting an ancient drama pitting the elders of Cainsville against the mysterious Huntsmen with Olivia as the prize.

In the series' fifth and final novel, not only does Gabriel's drug addict mother, who he thought was dead, make a surprise reappearance, but Kelley Armstrong delivers a final scary and surprising knock-out twist. It turns out a third supernatural force has been at work all along, a dark and malevolent entity that has had its eye on Olivia since she was a baby and wants to win at any cost.


The Stone Sky

N.K. Jemisin | Epic Fantasy • Post-Apocalyptic

The shattering conclusion to the post-apocalyptic and highly acclaimed bestselling trilogy that began with The Fifth Season, winner of the Hugo Award for Best Novel in 2016, and The Obelisk Gate, winner of the Hugo Award for Best Novel in 2017.

The Moon will soon return. Whether this heralds the destruction of humankind or something worse will depend on two women.

Essun has inherited the power of Alabaster Tenring. With it, she hopes to find her daughter Nassun and forge a world in which every orogene child can grow up safe.

For Nassun, her mother's mastery of the Obelisk Gate comes too late. She has seen the evil of the world, and accepted what her mother will not admit: that sometimes what is corrupt cannot be cleansed, only destroyed.

THIS IS THE WAY THE WORLD ENDS... FOR THE LAST TIME.

 

♥♥ ATTENTION READERS: Book Riot is giving away 10 copies of The Stone Sky! The giveaway ends Thursday, Aug 17, so be quick about it! ♥♥


Wicked Like a Wildfire

Lana Popovic | YA • Fantasy

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love.

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.


★ Weekly Pick: I would say The Stone Sky by NK Jemisin, but as I'm still working through the series, and my reading it is a given anyway because duh, I'm going with The Doll Funeral by Kate Hamer. Based on reviews, it seems full of gorgeous writing, darkly disturbing themes, and a haunting touch of the supernatural — all of which are things I love to read and write, and wish I saw more of.

What books are you adding to your TBR pile this week?