TOP

Waiting on Wednesday: Children of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone - Tomi Adeyemi

Waiting on Wednesday is a regular feature that spotlights those upcoming, can't-wait-for-them books that are definitely going on my reading list... check out previous Waiting on Wednesday picks here ➤

I am forever discovering upcoming books that I forget all about by the time they're released, no matter how many mental notes or actual note notes I give myself. And because I suck at Goodreads, it's not really much help. I hate this, especially when I'm in a book slump, looking for something to read and nothing sounds good. I hate it because I know there are all these books in the dusty caverns of my mind, trapped like James Franco in that one movie. 

Well, I've just discovered Waiting on Wednesday, a weekly (but for this here blog, bi-weekly) meme created over at Breaking the Spine and now hosted at Wishful Endings as “Can’t Wait Wednesday” which spotlights those upcoming, can't-wait-for-it books. Perfect, right? Now I'll have an easy record of what I'm most looking forward to, no mental amputation or useless notes required. Hopefully you enjoy these upcoming books too!

ALSO, you're aware it's October now. What you may not have known is that October is Black Speculative Fiction Month. So I'm starting off this Waiting on Wednesday with Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi ― a book that literally made me squee out loud when I read the synopsis. It's #ownvoices. It's a West African fantasy, a culture we haven't seen a lot of. It's already got a movie deal, and it won't even be out until next year. And the cover... well, just take a look for yourself and tell me that's not a pretty, pretty cover! 
 

Children of Blood and Bone

The OrÏsha Legacy #1

Tomi Adeyemi

YA | Fantasy

RELEASE DATE: March 6, 2018
HARDCOVER: 544 pages
PUBLISHER: Henry Holt and Co.

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers―and her growing feelings for an enemy.
 

amazon | barnes & noble | indiebound | goodreads